Anti-Oppression Committee

OAESV is proud to convene the statewide Anti-Oppression Committee (AOC), formed in 2014 and comprised of OAESV staff, rape crisis center staff, and allied professionals from across Ohio.

AOC Mission

The Statewide Anti-Oppression Committee advocates for leaders and people of color in anti-violence work through actively addressing individual and institutional oppression. Download our brochure HERE.

Why Anti-Oppression?

People deserve a voice. In this movement, the people most affected by inequity are often excluded from the very decision-making that determines their ability to make change. Oppression occurs when economic, political, legal, and social systems increase the power of one group at the expense of another. Forms of oppression can include unfair treatment based upon: ability, age, country of origin, ethnicity, gender, gender identity, immigration status, physical abilities, mental health, race, religion, sexual orientation, and/or socioeconomic class. The AOC believes that oppressed people must be at the forefront of the movement to actualize security for all. To achieve this vision, together, we will identify and dismantle systems of oppression that disempower people and weaken our ability to individually and collectively drive change.

Our Commitment

The following anti-oppression commitments act as a guiding set of beliefs, values, and practices for our committee, our organizations, and our individual members:

  • EXAMINING PRIVILEGE: Addressing the privileges we have individually and corporately to facilitate the shifting of power to those who have been historically oppressed.
  • UNDERSTANDING OPPRESSION: Building competency about intersectionality and the impact of individual and institutional oppression in order to address it through our hiring processes, curricula, and proactive training.
  • AMPLIFYING VOICES: Listening to and incorporating the voices of those who have been historically marginalized in our planning and decision making.
  • INCREASING ACCESS: Providing access to effective and culturally relevant resources and services for those who have been marginalized.
  • REDUCING BARRIERS: Identifying and dismantling the tangible and intangible barriers that exclude and discourage those who have been historically marginalized from accessing services and developing leaders who combat oppression.
  • CULTIVATING INCLUSION: Creating opportunities that welcome and reflect the diversity of people of color as leaders in the community and through a Staff and Board of Directors who reflect the diversity of our network.

Anti-oppression is life-long work that requires ongoing commitment from individuals and institutions. Therefore, this is a living document to be revised by the AOC as our understanding of anti-oppression and its role in the movement evolves.

History of the Anti-Oppression Committee

In 2013, OAESV joined the second cohort of the Women of Color Network's National Call to Action Training and Technical Assistance Project with state sexual assault, domestic violence, tribal, and dual coalitions. The project included a commitment by OAESV board and staff to address internal policies and practices regarding the diversity and equity of staff, of rape crisis centers statewide, and of services provided to survivors. In addition to tangible changes within the coalition, the project resulted in the formation of the Anti-Oppression Committee.


Current members of the Anti-Oppression Committee (as of July 2017):

  • Kelly Becker, Training & Technical Assistance Specialist, OAESV
  • Rosa Beltré, Executive Director, OAESV
  • Sharlene Boltz, OAESV Board President and Law Professor, Northern Kentucky University
  • Ann Brandon, Director of Prevention, OAESV
  • Camille Crary, Director of Legal Services & Policy, OAESV
  • Aaron Eckhardt, Executive Director, Buckeye Region Anti-Violence Organization (BRAVO)
  • Ryn Farmer, Rape Crisis & Anti-Human Trafficking Director, Day One of Crime Victim Services and OAESV Board
  • Becca Getson, Legal Advocate, OAESV
  • Tiearra James, Resource Specialist, OAESV
  • Megan Jones-Williams, Director of Advocacy & Training, OAESV
  • Corina Klies, Public Health Consultant, Ohio Department of Health
  • Venica Miller, Manager of Special Events and Training, Ohio Attorney General Crime Victim Section
  • Miriam Mohamed, Chapter Director, Ohio Network of Children's Advocacy Centers
  • Olivia Montgomery, Outreach Coordinator to Underserved Populations, Ohio Domestic Violence Network
  • Melissa Obodzinski, Resource & Communications Coordinator, OAESV
  • Liz Poprocki, Executive Director, Ohio Victim Witness Association
  • Kandra Roberts, LAV Attorney, OAESV
  • Leigha Shoup, Director, Child Advocacy Center of West Central Ohio, Crime Victim Services
  • Kristin Shrimplin, Executive Director, Women Helping Women
  • Teresa Stafford, Senior Director of Victim Services and Outreach, Cleveland Rape Crisis Center
  • Taylr Ucker-Lauderman, Director of Communications, OAESV
  • Shandra Witherspoon, Director of Coordinated Community Responses

Documents & Resources

Contact Us

For inquiries about the Anti-Oppression Committee or training or technical assistance provided by the AOC, please contact Rosa Beltre at